Optional Activity #7. The Box – First Light

I. Watch this video and summarize it.

II. Write a sentence with the following words / expressions that you can hear in the video.

1) to drop something

2) top of the range

3) I’m on it

4) to stack shelves

III. How important is the television in your house? How many hours a week do you watch the box?

Submit all your answers in a comment here to be published on Monday, 27th April.

About Mireia Xortó

Hi! I'm a teacher of English as a Foreign Language (EFL) for ESO & Batxillerat at Institut Francesc Macià in Cornellà.
This entry was posted in Batxillerat 2 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Optional Activity #7. The Box – First Light

  1. Carlos Cerezo says:

    I. Watch this video and summarize it.

    The video is about how television affects our lives, The hours that watching TV or playing and the time that is lit but not see it.

    II. Write a sentence with the following words / expressions that you can hear in the video.

    1) to drop something: be careful not to drop something

    2) top of the range: You have to put that at the top of the range

    3) I’m on it: Don’t disturb me I’m on it

    4) to stack shelves: Help me to stack shelves

    III. How important is the television in your house? How many hours a week do you watch the box?
    TV in my house only see when we throw some interesting program or to watch movies that we like. Normally television a day I see 2-3 hours and 3-4 hours Weekend

  2. Alba says:

    I. The video shows some characteristic scenes of the life of a ordinary family. It consist on showing their relationship and life through what the television would see everyday. The video only shows their living room, where they seat on the sofa while watching TV or doing house tasks.

    II.
    1) to drop something: she told me to drop my clothes in the bag
    2) top of the range: I want the top of the range television
    3) I’m on it: yeah, sure! I will go to the supermarket, I’m on it!
    4) to stack shelves: don’t stack shelves! It will mess up all the hard work I did cleaning up!

    III. For my parents the television is really important. They don’t like computers or smartphones so they only watch TV. However, I don’t watch television as much as they do and I think I watch it only 7h per week.

  3. Marc Fernandez says:

    I. Watch this video and summarize it.

    In this video, you can see That is where the television many times, and the TV is open each family member does something different and do not help each other, goal When the TV is turned off and start doing things together distracted things other than watching TV

    II. Write a sentence with the Following words / expressions That you can hear in the video.

    1) to drop something. Leaves Play, television and duties, to drop something …

    2) Top of the range. The top of the range is not too good.

    3) I’m on it. Bring the game !! ; I’m on it.

    4) to stack shelves. We buy books to stack shelves.

    III. How important is the television in your house? At home it is important How many hours a week do you watch the box? Between 1 and 2 hours daily, weekly and 15- to 20 hours.

  4. Arnau Canalda says:

    I.
    This video is made from the perspective of a TV that’s placed in the dining-room of a house. It shows the life of a family and some quotidian things that happen in every house, for example: the family watching a film together, the father and the kid helping each other to build a table, the moment when the father comes from work and he is tired, etc.

    II.
    1-The father dropped a cup of coffee on the table.
    2-This new car is on the top of the 4×4 range.
    3-Are you doing homework? Yes, I’m on it
    4-When a supermarket runs out of chocolate, people who work there stack shelves to refill the chocolate stand.

    III.
    In my house, we watch the TV to watch the news, to watch films, to watch TV shows when we are having dinner or lunch, etc. Although it isn’t very important, it is always turned on. I honestly don’t watch TV because it’s very boring and it’s full of ads. If I want to see something, I have the internet. I just watch TV when I’m eating because the TV is in the dining-room, but if there is nothing important on TV I turn it off. My parents watch TV more often than I do.

  5. Eduard Ambrojo Pedrerol says:

    I. Watch this video and summarize it.
    This video shows the life of a national family from the TV. We can watch how the family carry out his tasks. The son play a console while his father want a job. The mother does homeworks. Throughout video we can appreciate the importance of TV.

    II. Write a sentence with the following words / expressions that you can hear in the video.

    1) to drop something: Rofht go to drop something on TV.

    2) top of the range: We haven’t top of the range just we needed.

    3) I’m on it: She say that I don’t want a work but, I’m on it.

    4) to stack shelves: Annie need help to stack shelves.

    III. How important is the television in your house? How many hours a week do you watch the box?
    In this moments I don’t watch very time the TV but, Tv is more important for me. I watch Tv for relax when I come of school and early of start with studies. I too love watch TV on morning of Saturday and Sunday. In this moments I can’t play console because is broken but when I repair the console, I use more time the TV.
    I watch the TV 16 hours on a week.

  6. Albert says:

    I.
    In this short video we can see a family life during the week.

    II.
    1) He drops the bottle to the floor.
    2) The top of the range Mercedes and BMWs brings all accessories and has better finish.
    3) When will you repair the TV? I’m on it.
    4) There aren’t spaghettis the personal should stack shelves.
    III.
    In my house, we don’t watch the TV a lot. We usually watch the TV when we are having dinner. I watch less one hour the TV, I prefer watch TV series on Internet.

  7. Víctor Almagro says:

    I. Watch this video and summarize it.
    In this video, we see the life of a family from the point of view of their television.

    II. Write a sentence with the following words / expressions that you can hear in the video.
    1) to drop something. Let’s drop off Tom at his house.
    2) top of the range. These cars are top of the range and expensive.
    3) I’m on it. Are you fixing the television? I’m on it.
    4) to stack shelves. I’m stacking shelves in a supermarket.

    III. How important is the television in your house? How many hours a week do you watch the box?
    In my house, TV is not really important. We only see the box at launch time, about five hours a week.

  8. Jordi Cortés 2n 3 BATX says:

    1. The video is about how many hours we spent in front of the ”box”, or in other words the TV and teach us that we are too hours watching the TV and that we do a lot of activities watching the TV.

    2.
    -They will drop something to you.
    -This TV is in the top of the range.
    -Can you do your homework? Im on it!

    3.It have low importance, only when Barça plays.
    I spend 2 hours or less.

  9. Sergio Horrillo says:

    1. In the video we can see a family that just bought a TV and installed in your living room. The video is about how TV affects the family and various events that occur. The box refers to the TV

    2. -He leave drop her phone and now is broken.
    -This TV is on the top of the range.
    -I’m on doing my optative homework.
    -She stack her books on the shelves for have it ordened.

    3. I don’t know how important is TV in my house, I see the TV when I don’t have to do anything more important, using it as way to pass the time.

  10. Francesc Garcia says:

    I. Watch this video and summarize it.
    The video is about a typical small family who have just bought a top of the rage television and the father is installing it. Their son spends all his time watching television. when the father gets back home from work he informs his wife that he no longer has a job and can’t even find a job stacking selves.
    The television is always on and everything in the room is constantly changing. The father job prospects are also changing and the furniture too. It seems that they are sat in front the television all day.

    II. Write a sentence with the following words / expressions that you can hear in the video.
    1) to drop something
    Yesterday, while i walking down the street, a man dropped his wallet so I picked it up and gave it back to him.
    2) top of the range
    Last year I bought a new computer which was top of the range. now they have brought out range.
    3) I’m on it
    when my father asks me if I have finish all my homework I always tell him that I’m on it.
    4) to stack shelves
    I wouldn’t mind stacking shelves if they paid me well.

    III. How important is the television in your house? How many hours a week do you watch the box?
    Television used to be part of our family life but now that we all have computers and this has change.
    We only watch television together in the kitchen.
    After we all spend our time on separate computers to help us with studies and to watch any series.
    Personally, I watch television about an hour everyday.

  11. II. Write a sentence with the following words / expressions that you can hear in the video.

    1) to drop something:
    I start to drop smoking in my house.

    2) top of the range:
    My dad is in the top of the range.

    3) I’m on it:
    -Joshe clean the mirror please.
    -I’m on it mum

    4) to stack shelves:
    I strack shelves the books.

    III. How important is the television in your house? How many hours a week do you watch the box?
    In my house the tv is important, but with the time I use more and more the computer, and see series, films… My father and my mother look tv normally. I look tv about 1 hour a day. But when i was a child i look more hores the tv 3 or 4 hores a day.

Leave a comment